What to Wear…When You’re Nervous?

It will probably surprise exactly no one to learn that I deal with anxiety over an event by planning my outfit. (Remember the first day of school?) Suffice to say, then, that I’ve been wondering what to wear tonight for weeks. In a couple hours at The New York Times, I’m going to stand up in front of a crowd that includes faculty and friends from the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, as well as journalists like Barbara Walters and Charlie Rose (so apt at public speaking!!), and accept an award from the Dean of the school. I’m so excited for the honor, but after mining my closet and tormenting my friends all weekend, I still haven’t landed on an outfit.

I’m about to hop in the shower, where an assortment of dresses, jackets, skirts and shrugs hang, waiting for the wrinkles to fall out in the steam. (Now that Julie and Lina’s opening film revealed this strange setting, there’s no point in hiding it.)

The Dean might be happy to know I’ve taken a few minutes from this turmoil to work on my speech. Essentially, I’ll talk about CUNY being a place that gave me the confidence to stick with the material I believe in, and the tools to repackage it for the worldwide web. (See: Sweden.Closettour.) I’m hoping for an outfit that can remind me of the same. A solid piece, maybe made modern by an accessory or two, that still lets the story shine through. 

Hit the showers!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What to Wear…When You’re Nervous?

  1. CONGRATS! You are such a STAR!!!! And I know you’ll look fabulous. You could pull off fabulous with a paper bag and some string. Go get ’em!

  2. Carol

    and what did you wear?

    • Hi! I wore a royal purple bustle skirt with a white American Apparel bodysuit and an old Cynthia Rose bolero…felt sort of Oscar (as in De La Renta, not Awards). Not terribly exciting, but appropriate for midtown, I felt…

  3. Ken

    What do you wear when you are REALLY nervous?

    Depends….

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

